Testimonials

Great, caring and very clear. Given my surgery was more complex than expected, I am so very glad it was you who did it.
 
 
I was so frightened when I first went to see Mr Khazali in late 2019. I’d had weird symptoms and pain for years and had just accepted it as normal. My GP suspected fibroids so sent me for an ultrasound and then referred me to Mr Khazali. He was so kind and friendly, I felt reassured and safe. He performed my open myomectomy last September. Again, I was terrified! Even more so because the pandemic meant I had to spend a week self-isolating beforehand and had to go to the hospital alone. By the day of my surgery I felt so jumpy and lonely. Mr Khazali’s wonderful nurse, Leandri, was in contact with me to explain things and answer questions during the self-isolation. And everyone at the hospital was wonderful. The anaesthetist came to see me beforehand and explained everything, reassuring me that he’d done this quite a bit so not to worry! He was so sweet. Then Mr Khazali came with his team and was very clear and straightforward, made everything seem very routine and normal and set my mind at rest. It was weirdly calming to know that mine was second in the list of operations he’d perform that day, no drama, no fuss, just getting on with it. Normalising of the situation really helped me! He came to see me after the operation and explained what they’d found and how everything had gone well although it was a bit more difficult than he’d anticipated because of a particularly large fibroid. My body felt different so quickly. The day after surgery I felt lighter, I could use the loo normally and my even with the post-surgery swelling my waist looked smaller! I didn’t realise how much pain and discomfort I’d been in all those years. After I went home two days after surgery, Leandri followed up to check I was ok and I had her number so I could get in contact with her with any worries. She was so amazing. I really cannot recommend Mr Khazali enough, he’s really the best! He is clearly a very busy man but he takes all the time he can to set you at ease and explain things clearly.
 
 
I felt I was in very good hands with Mr Khazali.
 
 
Dr Khazali always listens and honours my thoughts and feelings
 
 
Feel like everything was explained in detail with me prior to my procedure and felt like I was in extremely safe hands, thank you for taking care of me. Also for taking the time to see me after my procedure to check that I was recovering ok too
 
 
Mr Khazali and his team were excellent. My operation was more challenging than what was expected but was completed with no complications, which is testament to his expertise and experience. Thank you for everything.
 
 
Thank you, Dr Khazali for everything you have done for me both before and after my surgery. You were reassuring and kind throughout the whole process. I was honoured to be invited to the Lister to have my surgery robotically. My recovery so far is going well and I honestly believe that it because of the care that I was given whilst at the Lister. Thank you!
 
 
It was a pleasure dealing with the whole team from start to finish. Everyone was clear on what to expect and spoke with kindness. The operation was complex but a massive success, after years of pelvic and abdominal pain, I am now pain free.
 
 
Dr Khazali is clearly an expert in his field. He is the only doctor who has demonstrated an understanding of endometriosis that filled me with confidence and therefore trust, and I’ve been dealing with this for well over a decade. He takes care in the smaller details of patient care that make all the difference and I will be forever grateful to him and his team for taking such great care of me.
 
 
Excellent consultant, very knowledgeable and kind. I felt very informed. The anaesthetist was lovely and very approachable. Leandri the private nurse was fantastic and made me feel very supported. I had a laparoscopy and hysteroscopy and couldn’t recommend this team enough. Thank you for looking after me!
 
 
I had a great experience with the entire team with Mr Khazali for my endometriosis surgery. Mr Khazali has been very informative and caring whilst dealing with my surgery and all surrounding it. The nurse specialist, Leandri, put me at ease before the surgery and followed up during my recovery process.
 
 
What a talented man after 2 years of being extremely unwell I am finally pain free.
 
 
Highly skilled surgeon. I had hysterectomy 15 th January. Hopefully my all endometriosis have been removed. He expected that after this surgery I will have good quality ( pain free) life. Thank you very much Mr Khazali.
 
 
Very professional & kind. Created a positive & calming atmosphere
 
 
Great experience. I feel I had the best treatment possible. Dr. Khazali gave me hope for my future and I am sincerely grateful for all he has done for me.
 
 
Mr Khazali has been very informative and caring whilst dealing with my surgery and all that surrounds it. He has put me at ease.
 
 
Very professional & kind. Created a positive & calming atmosphere
 
 
Great experience. I feel I had the best treatment possible. Dr. Khazali gave me hope for my future and I am sincerely grateful for all he has done for me.
 
 
Mr Khazali has been very informative and caring whilst dealing with my surgery and all that surrounds it. He has put me at ease.
 
 
Fantastic professional. Listened to my symptoms and didn’t dismiss me
 
 
Mr Khazali is extremely skilled. My surgery was technically very complex yet he managed to conduct the surgery successfully with little loss of blood and extremely effective pain management. He is kind and professional and it is evident that he cares for his patients. I’m forever grateful to him.
 
 
Mr Khazali was understanding, kind, patient, honest and explained everything really well. I am amazed with his expertise and the success of my surgery.
 
 
This surgeon as absolutely amazing. Even though he has clearly carried out numerous operations in the past, he did not make me feel like I was ‘just another patient with endometriosis’. His care is considered, personal and outstanding quality. I feel grateful to have been able to have Mr Khazali and his colleague Ben carry out my surgery.
 
 
Very reassuring, very thorough in his communications. Really did feel in excellent (and safe!) hands.
 
 
My surgery went extremely smoothly and I am grateful to Mr Khazali and his team for their excellent care.
 
 
Mr Khazali put me at ease from our first meeting. In one meeting he was able to diagnose and clearly explain a treatment plan, giving hope to an end of 8 years of pain. Every interaction with Mr Khazali has been excellent.
 
 
Always there to listen,understanding and compassionate. Such a great surgeon
 
 
The communication has been clear throughout. I have been kept informed at all times. The care that I received has been excellent, very genuine client care and I was placed at ease. I felt that I was treated as an individual, with autonomy in a non judgemental environment.
 
 
It has been excellent and I feel confident that I have received good medical treatment.
 
 
Great experience, listened to concerns and advised accordingly. Procedures went well and after care very good.
 
 
Dr Khazali performed laparoscopic myomectomy at the Lister hospital on a large fibroid inside the uterus wall. Highly professional and extremely knowledgeable, very kind and genuinely cares about his patients. A well-established team of staff around Dr Khazali proved what a true teamwork really looks like. I would highly recommend Dr Khazali to anyone looking for this procedure.
 
 
My experience with Mr Khazali was great. I found him to be very professional and knowledgeable which was a comfort to me , it made me feel like I was in good hands and I was. Mr Khazali took the time to listen to me and answer all my questions , he also explained everything to me very clearly . He has great humor, which helped put me at ease on the day of my procedure .
 
 
Lovely manner and understanding making you feel safe and he has your best interest always listens to you and any questions you have , so glad he listened to me and my surgery went very well thank you Mr khazali and your team
 
 
Brilliant, felt very comfortable throughout.
 
 
Mr Khazali is a very kind professional surgeon. His surgery and bedside manner is first class. I am so grateful to him and his team! True professionals in their field!
 
 
I would like to thank Mr Khazali, Leandri and the whole team for providing me with fantastic medical care from start to finish. In the past, I have had multiple laparoscopic surgeries to remove endometriosis and ovarian cysts, but I have been told that my condition was too severe to operate further. I continued to suffer severe pain and discomfort impacting my quality of life, with a recurrence of my health issues more aggressively than before. From the moment I met Mr Khazali, he was attentive, while being incredibly humble, open and honest about my condition and the risks involved with potential surgeries. Mr Khazali clearly understood the disease to a level I had not experienced with anyone else. He is a true professional and clearly cares deeply, ensuring that you are listened to, and addressing all questions, however small or “silly”, with a clear explanation. In less than 5 weeks, I had my initial consultation with Mr Khazali, follow-up consultations via video and then proceeded with surgery to excise my endometriosis, drain and wash my ovarian cysts and remove what turned out to be a rather large fibroid. There are so many people out there who just try to “get used to” the pain, but it doesn’t have to be that way and Mr Khazali made me realise that from the first consultation. Mr Khazali is very respected amongst his staff and fellow colleagues and in his field, to a very high degree, and throughout my care, I heard multiple comments from health care assistants to fellow Consultants, who respect his work, and extremely dedicated commitment to treating Endometriosis. As a patient, the level of patient care I experienced was second to none, and it’s incredible to hear that you’re in great hands! I would like to add that Leandri leads with empathy, grace and compassion, she reached out pre- and post-op to ensure I was made to feel comfortable, had any remaining questions answered and made me feel at ease to proceed with my surgery, which ended up being quite extensive. Both Leandri and Mr Khazali followed up post-op, visiting daily to check on my progress while I was an in-patient, and assessing my ability to recover effectively, and even following up following my discharge via phone. If you have the opportunity, please do consider speaking to Mr Khazali, you are really in the very best hands and will have everything to gain! Mr Khazali truly is a phenomenal Gynaecologist and Endometriosis Surgeon!
 
 
The level of expertise and knowledge can never be doubted – it goes without saying that Mr Khazali is at the very pinnacle of his profession, and any research will support this fact. What isn’t documented as freely is the backup and support that Mr Khazali and his team offers to his patients. Explanations are clear and concise, decisions are made as simply as possible. Risk and reward is discussed openly and factually, so that we as patients can make the best informed decision for our benefit. Any and all concerns are addressed sympathetically, empathically and without judgement. I suffer from severe anxiety especially when it comes to my personal health, and at no point did I ever feel that my anxiety was not taken seriously or without due consideration. His team literally and figuratively held my hand through each step pre and post operation. I have a direct line to his team to which i can ask any question at any time. The emotional support is absolutely sensational, which i feel is just as important as the medical proficiency. My expectations have well and truly been surpassed. Thank you to Mr Khazali and Leandri.
 
 
Mr Khazali is a fantastic, knowledgable and empathetic consultant. I had been having intermittent issues since my teen years and he carefully listened to all my concerns and worries. Taking into account my emotional well-being and prior medical history we proceeded with surgery. On the day he reassured me and always ensured every decision was patient led. I couldn’t recommend anyone better than him for endometriosis diagnosis & treatment. His entire team are absolutely incredible – from his PA to Leandri who supported me and checked in post-op.
 
 
From the moment I met Mr Khazali for my consultation I felt at ease and finally got the answers I needed from a disease that has affected me for over 25 years. His team, especially Leandri have gone above and beyond to reassure me before, during and after the procedure. I can not thank them all enough. I finally feel ‘heard’.
 
 
Mr Khazali is amazing, he is so kind and respectful and reassuring. He explained through everything very well so I felt at ease. Just want the thank mr khazali again for everything.
 
 
I had a fantastic experience with Mr Khazali, he did a fantastic job and i felt in very safe hands
 
 
Listens to concerns and provides clear feedback and guidance
 
 
Dr Khazali has been supportive throughout of my treatment. I was in a lot of pain and he was the first consultant to really understand how endometriosis can affect someone’s life. He has an amazing team that could comfortably contact. Ms Leandri one of his team members was always supportive and available if I had any concerns or questions.
 
 
Best surgeon, can not flaw at all , he made sure I know exactly what was going to happen during my surgery and what I can expect after it . very concerned and very understanding . He is very kind and always listen to my side and all my problems then suggested what ever should be good for me , he is really good listener does not rush at all . Overall if you are in his care that means you are with THE BEST SURGEON.
 
 
I want to thank Mr Shaheen Khazali for performing my surgery. He is an excellent endometriosis surgeon with a very professional and kind attitude. He knows exactly what tests and examinations need to be done before the surgery to make sure that the surgery is really needed. He always explains everything clearly and always makes sure that he and his patient on the same page. It was my second endometriosis surgery and I can say that this time all the carbon dioxide was removed completely from my belly which let me to sleep without any pain (even on my sides) and go back to my daily activities on the second day! I just really feel like I was treated gently and professionally! Thank you so much Mr Shaheen Khazali for doing such an amazing and incredibly difficult work for helping women to be healthy and pain free again!
 
 
Mr Khazali is incredibly kind, respectful, empathetic and he truly understands the impact endometriosis has on the lives of his patients. Throughout the process he explained everything clearly and always took the time to answer all of my questions. I am now 18 months post excision surgery and I have a 95% reduction in pain. Endometriosis is no longer a dominating factor in my life, and I will be forever thankful to Mr Khazali for that!
 
 
I want to thank Dr Khazali. I felt I was in good hands he was very reassuring. He came and spoke to me before my surgery and explained what will happen and also the morning after the surgery. He explained what he has done and made sure I was ok. Was really professional and kind.
 
 
I want to thank Dr Khazali. I felt I was in good hands he was very reassuring. He came and spoke to me before my surgery and explained what will happen and also the morning after the surgery. He explained what he has done and made sure I was ok. Was really professional and kind.
 
 
Excellent Surgeon. Explained the procedure & Operation went very well.
 
 
Mr. khazali is such an amazing doctor. He explained me so well and also took care of my system by treating it in a proper way. I can see that I will be a mother soon. As I did my treatment to be a mother as I have seen the pain and gone through this pain for so many years. Thank you so much Dr. Khazali. May god bless you.
 
 
Very professional, caring and listened and answered all my questions. He is one of the best Dr’s I have dealt with and would like to thank him for everything he has done to help me.
 
 
Mr Khazali is the best surgeon I have had the pleasure of meeting. After a terrible experience with a general gynaecologist last year who told me my pain was in my head and there was nothing else any other Dr could do for me and refused to refer me for a second opinion, Mr Khazali was like a been seen and heard for the first time. I am confident for the first time that after the healing process I will finally be pain free and feel like I have my life back again, all thanks to Mr Khazali. I highly recommend him to anyone considering a consult with him.
 
 
Dr Shaheen Khazali is a very friendly and nice person who help you with any questions before the operation I felt as if I was in safe hands throughout. Mr Khazali did everything to make sure I was comfortable and explained everything to me clearly. He is a very Genuine person.
 
 
Mr Khazali, listened to my wishes with regards to surgery. He was extremely professional and explained exactly what would happen. He made me feel so much more at peace, that this was the right choice for my needs. I honestly can’t thank him and his team enough, they have given me a new lease of life.
 
 
I felt as if I was in safe hands throughout. Mr Khazali did everything to make sure I was comfortable and explained everything to me clearly.
 
 
Mr Khazali is clearly the best at what he does. Despite some unexpected findsduring my surgery, he was able to adapt and since I have left the hospital my recovery has went from strength to strength. I truly believe he was the most qualified with my condition to go to. He explained the full process well and expected outcomes so I was fully informed and prepared. He ensures the patient is the centre of all decisions made.
 
 
Very understanding and explains things well, doesn’t treat me like I don’t know anything about my condition.
 
 
Impeccable patient manner, clear communication from beginning to after recovery. I cannot recommend seeing Mr Khazali enough, it has changed my life and I feel human again! I will be forever grateful.
 
 
Mr Khazali is incredible. Not only has he taken great care of my problem, but also he is lovely person to speak with at every appointment. It’s rare to find a surgeon that combines personal touches and care for a patient with outstanding quality of medical care. I highly recommend becoming his patient.
 
 
Instantly put at ease by Mr Khazali, I felt listened to and completely understood. My procedure was explained in great detail as well as the potential side effects or issues.
 
 
Mr Khazali resolved a long term issue for me that my previous consultant had told me was irresolvable. He is a highly skilled specialist, and has saved me from a life time of pain. He did so with kindness, a professional approach, realism and respect all of which I much appreciated at a very trying time. I can’t thank or recommend him highly enough.
 
 
Mr Khazali was very kind and friendly, very organised and did a very thorough surgery for my endometriosis. I am very happy with the outcome as he found and excised a lot of endometriosis I believe he went above and beyond what other surgeons would do as he found endometriosis in inconspicuous areas that were not immediately obvious. He explained everything really well and his clinic letters are accurate and detailed with a clear plan. My excision scars are tiny and barely noticeable – you would barely know I’ve even had it done. Leandri his specialist nurse was also very kind and helpful and easy to reach on the phone if we had a question following the surgery.
 
 
My experience with Mr Khazali has been amazing. He is a great listener, empathetic and I really believe I am in the best of hands after years of suffering. Brilliant!
 
 
I couldn’t sing Mr Khazali’s praises enough! He has been incredible and given me options to move forward. I recently underwent a laparoscopic hysterectomy for endometriosis and adenomyosis and I can honestly say after years of significant pain and trauma I feel I have been given a second chance to live as pain free as possible. Dr Khazali is empathetic, sympathetic and knowledgeable, he listens and puts you at ease when discussing the most complex treatment options and possibilities. I know I am exceptionally lucky to have had his expertise and guidance.
 
 
It’s refreshing to hear from a doctor that takes the time to explain things in detail.
 
 
Mr Khazali was very knowledgeable and I felt I finally had met someone who understood the extent of my disease. Equally important was the empathy Mr Khazali showed and the impact that my endometriosis had on my quality of life.
 
 
Mr Khazali has a way of being that is mirrored in his way of surgery;- that is, intelligent, elegant, gentle and genteel. There are no superlatives commensurate to his talent and having had previous surgery elsewhere, I can say with authority that he is in a league of his own.
 
 
Mr Khazali is an exceptional consultant and extremely skilled surgeon. Having suffered for so long with undiagnosed endometriosis, I feel incredibly fortunate to now be under his expert care. He is a great listener, takes the time to explain the various treatment options, is honest, empathetic, and is quick to respond to any concerns or queries. I very much appreciate his patient-centric approach and the fact that he has involved me in decision making regarding my treatment plan. I felt in safe hands at all times while under his care. He has treated me with courtesy, respect and compassion. I am only a few days post-op, but I’m already feeling better than I have in years and am feeling very optimistic for the future. Mr Khazali has given me my life back and I cannot thank him or his team enough.
 
 
Mr Khazali is extremely kind, understanding and really cares about his patients. From the moment I went to see him he has made me feel at ease during every stage of the process. From ultrasounds, MRI’s, examinations, discussions and surgery – he has been 10/10. I had a difficult surgery and I was at the advanced stage of the disease – endometriosis was found everywhere – including my diaphragm / bladder / ureters / nerves / pelvic side wall / bowel / ovaries (x2 large cysts). Prior to surgery, Mr Khazali explained all options clearly and thoroughly and he encouraged me to freeze my eggs due to the impact the surgery would possibly have on my fertility. Unfortunately, this wasn’t something I was able to do. However, just 1 month post-op, I fell pregnant naturally! Endometriosis is an awful disease, however there is hope 🙂 Thank you to Mr Khazali for all of your help.
 
 
Great surgeon, answered all my questions and listened concerns. His professional approach made me feel comfortable and safe. Highly recommend!
 
 
My experience with Mr Khazali has been extremely positive from the consultations to the surgery and aftercare. He always takes the time to explain everything very carefully and gives good guidance. My surgery was complex due to my advanced endometriosis but in Mr Khazali’s capable hands it went very well and I am delighted! After the surgery he also took the time to speak to my husband by phone to explain how things went which I really appreciated. His surgery report was very detailed and prompt, the whole surgery process has been extremely efficient. Mr Khazali has the unique gift of being an excellent surgeon and having a compassionate and caring bedside manner. I also received great support from the specialist nurse Leandri.
 
 
Extremely approachable, felt comfortable to talk and listened to. We decided a clear plan for surgery and I felt informed the whole way through the journey.
 
 
Very confidently reassuring- I had a lot of confidence in Mr Khazali and his judgment to be able to treat me effectively and well! I trusted Mr Khazali and felt incredibly safe in his care.
 
 
Mr Khazali is the most wonderful caring and professional man. Personally I feel he is the absolute master of his craft! I have been cared for impeccably and I am extremely positive about my future being pain free. Essentially he has given me my life back!
 
 
I felt completely confident in Mr Khazali’s hands!
 
 
Couldn’t have asked for a better or more thorough doctor! I’m very happy to have had him as my surgeon.
 
 
I was lucky enough to have two amazing surgeons who I was able to have my stage 4 Endometriosis excision with. My first was in New York, and my second was with Mr Khazali in London. My second surgery took place 2.5 years after the first. It was recommended due to possible adhesions, and new growth that could have been stimulated from repeated IVF cycles. Mr Khazali is an extremely kind, knowledgeable and skilled Doctor who I would highly recommend to anyone who has Endometriosis . He specialises in Excision surgery, which is the gold standard for Endometriosis patients. My whole experience with him from start to finish was amazing. Mr Khazali really takes the time to listen to your story, and gives you the most honest feedback in the gentlest way. In my opinion there is no better surgeon in the UK to have your surgery with. I was just about to start my 10th IVF cycle post surgery with Mr Khazali when I found out I was naturally pregnant – something that seemed like an absolute impossibility; and I was told as much by many doctors. For me it’s truly a miracle, and I believe it was thanks to my surgery that this was even a possibility for me. I had my surgery at the Lister Hospital, and the care was second to none. My husband or family weren’t able to visit me due to covid restrictions, but the nurses were so attentive and caring that I didn’t feel I had no one with me even once. My recovery was very quick and Mr Khazali was also very easy to get hold of and answered any questions I had promptly, as did his lovely secretary. I am extremely grateful to him, and we are lucky to have such an incredible endometriosis surgeon in the UK.
 
 
A super hero!!
 
 
A super hero!!
 
 
Dr Khazali was very informative and reassuring of the surgery. I was recommended him by a friend who has previously had surgery with him and I am glad I waited for him to become available for surgery.
 
 
From start to finish I felt I was treated with the up most care and respect. Mr Khazali was very understanding in the pain and discomfort I was in and he made me feel at ease knowing he was going to be leading the operation. His bed side manor was of the highest and Mr Khazali took his time to explain the outcome of my procedure. The staff at the Lister hospital I met on the day of my procedure went out of their way to make me feel calm and reassured. Due to the covid rules noone can accompany the patient (with a few expections allowed) I had a lot of anxiety regarding to the anaesthetic, I was gladly surprised when all of the staff were so reassuring and calming. I had contact with a Nurse before and after my operation who once again made me calm and respected. I would like to thank all of the staff that I came into contact with, and I would highly recommend Mr Khazali and his team, they were amazing to say the least.
 
 
Mt Khazali listened to me and gave me options so I can choose the best for me. On the day of the operation everything went smoothly and I had a successful outcome. Mr Khazali is a great specialist who finally put me on right path to a quality life again.
 
 
Mr Khazali is thoughtful and clear professional with a great team around him. My experience was excellent from start to finish.
 
 
Very kind doctor and feel very confident in his hands, excellent care from his and his specialist nurse making me feel very well looked after pre and post op
 
 
Day of surgery he reassured me as I was very nervous and he helped me a great amount . I felt I safe hands and honoured for mr s khazali doing my surgery ,he is helped me solve a issue that was a problem from me for many years and he listened when no one else would .
 
 
The best Doctor! It helped me get rid of endometriosis and made it possible for me to get rid of the pain. I’m glad I met Mr Khazali.
 
 
Very helpful and lovely bedside manner!! One of the best consultants I have seen and very thankful with all of his and his teams help!!
 
 
He is my new hero. From the moment I met him for my first appointment, he took everything so seriously and was able to provide me with options after an internal examination on the same day. He listened to me fully and clearly explained everything in easy to understand terms. From this first appointment, he helped me with guidance on pain management right through to my operation date. Communication to myself and my GP was done very quickly. I met him before and after my operation and he has changed my life in the most positive way possible. A true professional who really does care about the health of women and can actually provide & delivery solutions too – that’s why he’s my new hero.
 
 
After 15+ years I have finally found a surgeon who has helped me long term. Mr Khazali is an expert and complex is his standard. He put me at ease straight away and I feel hopeful now of getting a good quality of life back as I feel phenomenal after my surgery. Best I have felt since my teens!
 
 
Thank you so much Mr Khazali and your whole team at BMI Runnymede for an exceptional service provided for my laparoscopic hysterectomy. Professional, knowledgeable and caring from start to finish. The nurses in the Runnymede were absolutely excellent too and I felt so well cared for. Highly recommend Mr Khazali.
 
 
Mr. Shaheen Kahzali is an AMAZING person and really truly understood the medical issues I had. I would class him as a miracle worker. Very professional, kind, caring, a good listener, and a wonderful surgeon. I had 100% confidence in him from the moment I meet him. Thank you Mr. Khazali for improving my life immensely.
 
 
 
Mr Khazali has always been kind and understanding of my condition and symptoms. He has been prepared to liaise with my respiratory doctor around my diaphragmatic endometriosis which has been very helpful.
 
 
 
My experience with Mr Khazali has been positive from the outset. Mr Khazali is the first doctor that I felt actually listened to me and took my symptoms seriously. He ensured that he explained everything thoroughly throughout. While my surgery was more complex than we initially expected and my hospital stay much longer, Mr Khazali ensured he took the time to consistently check in with me and explain the surgery etc. Mr Khazali also took the time to speak to my husband on numerous occasions during my recovery in hospital which was greatly appreciated. Overall it was a very positive experience with Mr Khazali and it was refreshing to be under the care of someone so knowledgeable. Mr Khazali’s nurse Leandri has been extremely helpful throughout and has supported my transition from hospital to home. She has remained on call to support with any queries throughout which has been invaluable.
 
 
 
I would like to thank Mr Khazali and his whole team as well as Leandri and James, who was there to explain and assure me of the operation, they answered all of my questions with knowledge and care. This was my first Endometriosis excision operation and it went well, I have seen some definite improvements thanks to Dr Khazali. I’ve been in this pain for just over 8 years now and it was becoming unbearable so Mr Kazali got me in straight away. Thankfully I have been in a less amount of pain as before since the operation which was just over a month ago at the end of November. I was worried that the op wouldn’t go through because of Covid but precautions were taken and it still went ahead. Many thanks to you all. 
 
 
 
Mr Khazali has been absolutely wonderful from the very beginning of my endometriosis journey, he is so caring, understanding & supportive, I’m always confident that I am in the very best hands, I’ve just recently had my second surgery, it was a great success & I am ever grateful that I was lucky enough to have Mr Khazali, & his whole team, they are amazing.
 
 
 
Very professional and friendly service.
 
 
 
Mr Khazali and his whole team are wonderful, especially Jamie and Leandri. It’s the best care I have ever received. I was so worried about coming into hospital during COVID-19 by myself but Leandri reassured me and I felt so comfortable throughout my whole stay. Mr Khazali explained everything really well and took me seriously from day 1 which was so important to me after being brushed off so many times. 3 weeks post op I’ve already improved. I am so glad to have found him.
 
 
 
Dr Khazali was very clear and did a brilliant job of explaining and eased my mind before going into surgery. He and his team also provided brilliant follow up support after my surgery checking in and being readily available to answer any questions or issues I had. My experience with Dr Khazali was amazing and would very much recomend.
 
 
 
He answers on every questions. He listens very careful. He tries find the best solutions for patient. Even after surgery he is in contact with patient
 
 
 
Absolutely trust this Surgeon far more than anyone else I’ve seen before!
 
 
 

Great experience. I feel really greatful to have had Mr Khazali as my surgeon. I felt listened to for the first time and was given very detailed explanations of what was going to happen during my procedure.

Verified patient
23-12-2020

 

My experience with Mr Khazali has been fantastic so far! When I first had my initial consultation, he started by saying ‘Ok, so tell me your story’. Mr Khazali took the time and listened to my symptoms, concerns, and the impact endometriosis was having on my life. He made me feel heard, understood and validated. He explained all my options in depth, encouraging me to make informed choices about my own health. I am almost 2 weeks post-op for excision surgery for my endometriosis, and I have been recovering so well. The morning after my operation, Mr Khazali came to visit me in the hospital and explained the procedure and what he had found. He checked that I was okay and ensured I had everything I needed to make my recovery as comfortable and smooth as possible. Mr Khazali has given me an invaluable glimmer of hope and I trust he did everything he possibly can to give me my quality of life back. I am excited to see Mr Khazali for my post op review, and to see the differences in the months ahead. I would recommend Mr Khazali to anyone and everyone, and I feel so lucky to be under his care! I was also lucky enough to be cared for by Mr Khazali’s specialist nurse, Leandri. Leandri first got in contact with me a few days before my surgery; wishing me well, listening to my fears and letting me know how to contact her if I needed anything. After my operation, Leandri phoned me daily to find out how I was doing and if I needed anything. After I was discharged from hospital, I did have a few issues and concerns that I needed help with and Leandri was amazing. She was helpful, kind and reassuring. I actually ended each conversation with Leandri in tears, because she instantly took away all my fears and gave me a huge sense of relief. Speaking to Leandri, I felt so validated, reassured and cared for. Having Leandri made a huge difference to my recovery as I knew there was always someone on the other end of the phone when I needed her. I can’t express my gratitude to Mr Khazali and Leandri enough- they are stars!

Verified patient
08-12-2020

 

I can’t recommend Mr Khazali and his MDT team enough! He has excised my widespread endometriosis and treated my other multiple gyne issues. I felt better from the moment I woke up from surgery and I was amazed to have had so little post-operative pain, almost none in fact! He and his entire team at treated me with dignity, respect, compassion, warmth, understanding and professionalism. It is only unfortunate that it has taken me so long to find this amazing and phenomenally skilled consultant. I had my menarche at 13 and it was painful and heavy from that day on; I’m now 43 years old, so this was way too long to get fully heard by my local and primary care providers, which left me in tremendous and debilitating pain on a monthly basis, that was robbing me if my quality of life, affecting my work and damaging my relationships. A story that is unfortunately too frequently told by endometriosis patients. I travelled a 465-mile round trip to speak with Mr Khazali for my initial consultation and within minutes he put me at ease that I had done my homework well and made the right choice; by looking at me compassionately and opening the dialog with “so, tell me your story” then carefully documenting of all my symptoms and examining me, to being clear on his thoughts of what was causing my pain and other symptoms (deep infiltration of my uterosacral ligaments) He went on to order an MRI to look for adenomyosis and infiltration of Pouch of Douglas, then dictated his letter to my GP on our mutually agreed course of action; all whilst I was still in the room to hear it and he could fact check with me. I had become accustomed to and exhausted by having to strong arm and self-advocate for what I needed with other providers; but I didn’t need to with Mr Khazali. I was astounded at how simple he made it contrast to my previous experiences. He respected my views and previous experiences with hormonal measures we discussed the next steps, where he explained the risks and benefits and gave a clear path forward for my treatment and helped me manage my expectations. I could tell he truly keeps his patient’s best interests & their individual choices at the heart of what he does. It is early days for me- post operatively speaking; Mr Khazali has explained to meon the morning after my surgery it will be approximately 6 months to know for sure what I will feel like long term; but if the level of relief I have now is indication of what my future is going to look like; and I’m sure it is, my world has got a whole lot brighter and my glass is full, and the sun is shining! Mr Kazhali is an excellent excision surgeon; who is at the forefront of change for endometriosis patients; with his dedication to continued research of his specialism, keeping his knowledge fresh and his surgical volumes high to ensure his exceptional skills are kept honed is how his patients get the best outcomes for their very individual cases. If you want your questions answered and you are hitting brick walls with your current providers particularly with endometriosis; speak to Mr Khazali, get the expertise you need; I doubt you will ever look back in regret; because If ever I need to travel those 445-mile round trip to have his care again I would do it in a heartbeat. Thank you, Mr Khazali & your team, I will be forever grateful to you!

 

Mr Khazali was extremely efficient. I had my operation within 2 months of 1st contact. Bear in mind, I had to travel from Ireland to UK and also isolate for 14 days due to covid19 guidelines. I had emailed his PA Emma after realising I could get a better operation with him. My previous gynae consultant was only offering endometriosis excision with a hysterectomy and possible nerve damage. Mr Khazali was able to tell me (via Zoom consult) from the MRI file I sent him he would not need to do a hysterectomy. He did my operation along with a colorectal specialist as I also needed a bowel resection. I am now endometriosis free after 15 years of having it, with womb intact and no nerve damage so I would highly recommend anyone with endometriosis to go to Mr Khazali.

Mr Khazali immediately put me at ease. A major issue for women with endometriosis is that their symptoms are not acknowledged by doctors because of outdated attitudes in evaluating women’s pain. Mr Khazali’s tone, body language, ability to listen without interrupting all gave the right message of respect and validation that my pain was real in the first few minutes of my consultation. This was so important as I was examined very shortly after, but I felt instinctively that he was trustworthy, competent and with a real vocation to help others so I did not feel anxious. He has a palpable drive for excellence in his area of expertise. I feel so lucky to have benefited from his skill and expertise as my endometriosis was very severe and with a nuanced presentation of symptoms which I feel could not have been tackled so effectively by anyone else. I am so grateful that he took the time to check in with me after very long surgery and also in the aftercare. A brilliant, skilled surgeon and caring human being!

I would 100% recommend Dr Khazali. I feel confident that he has done what he can do improve my quality of life and excise as much endometriosis as possible laparoscopically. He is an experienced surgeon and I wish I had found him earlier which would have prevented an ablation surgery and a laparotomy operation by regular gynae surgeons who didn’t specialise in Endometriosis or adenomyosis. This left me with a massive cut and in worse pain. If I had found Dr Khazali earlier all that could have been prevented. He is very skilled and was able to complete my very challenging surgery. A massive thank you to Dr Khazali and his team!

I met with Mr Khazali two years ago now having suffered with extreme pain due to stage 4 endometriosis. Following multiple consultations, scans and two surgeries, I have to say he has changed my life and given me hope again. I had met with several surgeons prior to finding him and am so glad to have selected who I feel is the one of the best specialists for endometriosis. He was approachable, he truly listened to my symptoms and created a plan that would work best for me and my body. My most recent surgery has drastically reduced my pain symptoms and I know I am in the best hands under his care for the future and management of my condition.

Mr Khazali and his team are incredible! Emma his fantastic secretary is always available and so kind. Mr Khazali’s specialist nurse Leandri Van Romburgh, has been amazing. She has kept in close touch with me before and after surgery – which was very much appreciated. I wish that I had found them years ago! I have been suffering from endometriosis and pelvic pain for decades. I have had a Spinal Cord Stimulator installed a few years ago and have been on a cocktail of strong painkillers. Due to my pelvic pain, my right foot has become dystonic. I had basically given up all hope of becoming pain free and mobile. Following a recommendation from the lovely Carla Cressey of The Endometriosis Foundation, I found Mr Khazali. On first meeting, his empathy, honesty, kindness and professionalism was outstanding. Mr Khazali has to be one of the most amazing people I have ever met. Absolutely everybody who I’ve spoken to about him (from patients to medical professionals) say he is an incredible, dedicated and gifted surgeon and gentleman and from my experience I completely agree. I have recently had pelvic nerve surgery and a hysterectomy under him. The whole experience has been excellent. Every step has been clearly explained to me and the team that Mr Khazali used for me has been superb. For the first time in years and years I am looking forward to a pain free future. I will be forever grateful.

I want to tell you all that before my excision surgery with the wonderful Mr Khazali I was pretty much crippled with pain.1yr today I was given some relief from the constant pain and agony that wracked my body from endometriosis.

I am one year post op from my 1st excision surgery. I’ve had 3 previous ablation surgeries over many years. And I have produced 1 son from 3 pregnancies.
When my little boy started school I realised I needed to use a walking stick for security to make the daily journey there and back. As the sciatica had gotten so bad I felt I might collapse on every walk.
Unfortunately I also found that vibrations from anything when I was sitting would cause epic amounts of pain to the point I felt I would pass out, from my little boy jumping about on the sofa next to me to car/ bus or train journeys. I ended up just standing constantly for a good 7 months, this I’m sure created a lot of other body pain. My anxiety levels got so bad during this, I did not feel safe in my own body. I couldn’t drive my car as my left leg would go so painfully numb and made me feel like I would vomit in my lap.
I also had many issues with food, if I ate the wrong thing it was almost an instant reaction, so I drastically lost weight. I went from 11 stone down to just under 7stone very quickly. Boxing day 2017 was awful, I nearly ended up in A&E, because I could not keep any food in.
Today is my year on mark, and I can confirm I can eat again, I can walk without fear of collapse and I am on no pain medication, it’s all unbelievable!
The constant pain in my hip is…. scared to say it, but it has gone, its amazing really!!
What Mr Khazali found was minimal endo around my right uterosacral nerves, minimal. That word scared me when I heard it, after surgery Mr Khazali did not think he’d helped me. He couldn’t confirm if what he’d done would make any difference because it was minimal.
Well 1 year on and I can really say the excision surgery did help, like amazingly help!
Thank you Nancy’s Nook for your education and guidance and massive Thank you to Mr Khazali for doing my surgery.
I know my endo journey is not over, as I will most likely have the endo growing back where the ablation surgery lasered it in 2017, but I am more confident that I understand my body and this vile condition and am prepared to fight to make sure I get the correct surgery from an accredited surgeon in my future.
Love to you all, there is hope xxNW 7th May Nancy’s Nook facebook group (use the same format as previous Nancy’s nook ones)

Out of desperation I researched & found Mr Shaheen Khazali. I had to travel from another town but all that was worth it, he listened, he believed me & reassured me, I had the best care from him & his team from start to finish, I was supported, I was given so much information with images from the operation, so much more than I have ever had from any other operation or hospital keeping me well informed & up to date, he excised the endo, tidied up adhesions formed from my hysterectomy & today I had my follow up appointment where he confirmed that histology tests proved it was endometriosis, I have recovered well the scars are discreet & healed well, my symptoms have gone and I feel generally better in myself than I have in a very long time. I am so impressed with his expertise, his natural genuine empathy for his patient’s & the care I received was so very much appreciated I was quite tearful. I highly recommend him as first choice surgeon especially if hysterectomy has become an option as last resort. I wish I had found him before my hysterectomy as that came with other complications that are often not realised until afterwards. The keyhole excision surgery is minimaly invasive but very effective I just wish I knew all this many years ago… Whatever your stage of endo, do your research choose your surgeon & make the right choice for you. I can’t thank him & his team enough for giving me back some quality of life, Thank you so much 😊💛

Josie Grayling 4/7/2019 – Mr. Khazali’s Facebook page

Dr Khazali and his team are truly a one of a kind service that I would travel hundreds of miles for treatment again and again, not that this in necessary as they got it right first time for me, I appreciate everyone’s circumstances are different so remain open minded and I had previously had one op. After an awful experience with my local hospital for my first op, when I was told I would need a further op to remove endo tissue from my uterus and bowels I searched high and low for a endometriosis specialist that knew what they were on about. I was scared as the first op had greatly decreased my quality of life. Upon first meet with Dr Khazali he was friendly, empathic, informative, straight forward, and honoured and validated my thoughts, feelings and concerns. I felt completely informed and in control of the plan to help get my quality of life back again. Even though still in recovery a week after my op I felt a million times better than I did and a year and 4 months on, I have regained full quality of life if not more than I ever thought was possible. There are no words to express the level of thanks and gratitude I have for Dr Khazali and his team at St Peters Hospital they really are amazing people  🙂

 

Verified patient 8/1/2020 – www.iwantgreatcare.org

https://www.iwantgreatcare.org/doctors/mr-shahin-khazali?all=1

Mr. Khazali is a fantastic surgeon and a truly lovely man who clearly cares about his patients (he also has fabulous taste in music #fellowPinkFloydfan 😁). I feel so lucky to have had my surgery with him 9 mths ago thanks to this wonderful group. I’m finally rid of the often debilitating gynae pain that I’d had for 24 yrs after having been fobbed off by so many Drs for years and, though I have other ongoing issues, being rid of that pain has been life changing. I’ve recommended him to so many people! X

SF 30/6/2019 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

After being diagnosed with severe endometriosis following an etopic pregnancy which nearly cost my life shortly after the birth of my son in 2003, I suffered agonising pain and crippling periods and fibroids for many years, until finally making the decision to go ahead and have a hysterectomy last year. Mr Khazali provided me with his expert guidance and reassurance about the procedure and I felt in very safe hands. Under his care and surgical expertise and advice I underwent a total laparoscopic hysterectomy with removal of one ovary – leaving the one healthy ovary in place. Mr Khazali was fantastic throughout the whole process and I only wish I had had the procedure sooner. I am now totally pain free and am so grateful to Mr Khazali for his surgical skills and looking after me so well.


Verified patient 7/2/2019 – Doctify.co.uk https://www.doctify.co.uk/specialist/mr_shaheen_khazali_1

There is light at the end of the tunnel! Thank you so much to Mr Khazali and his team. My life has changed so much after surgery, I had stage 4 endo I had a bowel resection and endo removed. I am able to have a good quality of life again and I am forever grateful.

To all the ladies out there who are feeling it is all doom and gloom there is light, you need to educate yourselves and do not take an opinion your unhappy with its is your body take control and find the right surgeon who will go through the journey with you.

 

Verified patient 1/11/2019 – www.iwantgreatcare.org

https://www.iwantgreatcare.org/doctors/mr-shahin-khazali?all=1

Very impressed at initial appointment last week. He was knowledgable, thorough, very sympathetic of our situation, reassuring and managed our expectations of possible outcomes well. I feel I can trust him and his team when it comes to my laproscopy. Well worth our journey of 276 miles.

Amanda Adebisi 13/5/2019 – Mr. Khazali’s Facebook page

So it’s one year ago today since I had my bowel resection and partial vaginectomy with Shaheen Khazali. He has completely turned my life around. I have zero pain now and am able to live a normal life without this horrible disease. Just wanted to give hope to anyone who is feeling like they will never feel any better because that’s what I thought too.
Thank you Mr Khazali.

KS 30/6/2019 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

In December 2019 I had bad news of my MRI scan. It shows fibroids in my uterus, endometriosis on my right ovary, and endometriosis on my lower bowel which scares me to death as the surgeon said I might finish with stoma bag..
I live in England for 5 years now and I had my 2nd laparoscopy here, however I decided to check the MRI results with my polish gynaecologist, as he was the founder of my endometriosis back in 2009. Surprisingly he didnt want me to rush into the surgery..
So I had 2 surgeons 2 different opinions
I started to search and I decided to make an appointment with Doctor Shaheen Khazali.
On 4th of February I had a pleasure to meet the doctor!
And from this day I feel like I received new life!!❤
He gave me hopes that I was looking for!
My last surgery wasn’t done properly..And probably I had endo going into my bowel back then however nothing was done with it..
Doctor Khazali explained everything properly to me, he was not in a rush, which I am grateful for! Carefully, step by step he went through everything with me so I would understand.
He gave me hope😇
He made me feel happy again.😊
I am permanently staying as his patient!
I still have endo but I don’t have to rush to do the surgery. Which was scarring me the most.
There are great doctors on this earth and Dr Shaheen Khazali is one of them!!!
So so so grateful and happy that I had a pleasure to meet him!


MF 9/2/2020 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

Review of Mr Khazali: I have had endo for a number of years and have been through ablation and excision and the usual challenges many of us have faced with diagnosis. When my partner developed a cyst that could have been endo, we went straight to Mr Khazali. I have seen many women ask about going to a general gynae first for diagnosis. I can’t emphasise how important it is to go straight to an expert if possible. Mr Khazali removed the cyst and spotted two tiny patches of endo on my partner’s uterosacral ligaments. I believe many gynaecologists would have missed these. If they had seen them, they would have used ablation, which so many of us know from first hand experience, causes more issues than it solves. My partner is now 3 months post op. She is pain free and her cycles have regulated and lengthened from short to average. As someone who has been dealing with this for years, I am stunned at the difference in my partner’s experience because for her, we knew enough to go straight to a specialist. Enormous thank to Mr Khazali and Nancy’s Nook.


SE 26/1/2020 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

Saw Dr Shaheen Khazali yesterday , unlike other experiences I actually felt like he got it ! And understood how much of an impact this is having.

PKR 28/2/2020 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

I’m now 5 weeks post op with Mr Khazali at Ashford & St Peters Hospital. (See other posts on consultations)
Before my surgery I was very concerned about post op pain, I have a history of it.
I saw Mr Khazali briefly before surgery, incase of any questions. I’d already been consented by his registrar, then got to spend some time talking in depth with the anaesthetist, he was incredibly kind and understanding about the complex nature of the pain I have and my concerns.
I’ve had 6 previous surgeries, none with Nook doctors. The last was for a bowel resection due to DIE. None of these previous surgeries offered any relief with pain. I had pain on and off throughout the month and with ovulation and was in bed for 8 days a month in immense pain during my period.
During this operation I had a total hysterectomy (for possible adenomyosis) waiting for pathology, op report said I had a bulky uterus. Rectum was adherent to the left pelvic side wall and to the left ureter also pulled up behind the cervix densely. Left ovary is adherent to the bowel and to the left pelvic side wall. Interestingly there was no obvious deep infiltrating endometriosis (as there has been during my last 6 surgeries) but there are scattered superficial lesions and there was significant fibrosis. Sacrospinous ligament was divided and the whole length of the sciatic nerve down to the operator internus muscle was freed up.
Mr Khazali had previously warned me that it could take some time for the nerves to calm down 6-9 months as they’re not happy being touched.
I have not bounced back after surgery like many reviews that I’ve read. It’s amazing if thats your experience. But I should be realistic as I’ve been having pain since I was 12, then masked by the pill but essentially the pain has interfered in my daily life since I was 26. I will be 46 in march. I want to thank Diane Fox Hills for her very open and honest feedback after her surgery as I’ve been suffering in pain and it just helped me so much to read your experiences.
I was starting to drop most of the meds at 4 weeks except for the pregablin and paracetamol. Then I experienced spasms all throughout my pelvis and back. This is something that I used to get on top of my period so had to go back to dihydrocodeine and diazepam for 4 days. This has lightened up today, thankfully and I’m doing better! I am seeing a cranial osteopath this week and when I’m recovered I’ll be seeing a physio, hopefully they’ll be able to help with the spasms. Thank you for the reminder that surgery with an expert is step one, I’m aware I have some work to do to get my life back.
Mr Khazali and his team are lovely and very reassuring. I have an appointment for the end of January to see Mr Khazali for my follow up and I’m looking forward to hearing about the operation and talking about the pictures I was given. Never had these before with any other surgery.


KAM 7/1/2020 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

I just wanted to update as 2 weeks ago I had surgery with Mr Shaheen Khazali at St Peter’s Hospital on the NHS.
I had been suffering from worsening intense right-sided pain that made me pass out and vomit for about 2 years. An MRI showed that my right ureter & kidney were dilated but kidney scans and CT scans showed no obvious blockage.
I was told by surgeons at UCLH not to proceed with surgery – they actually told me to proceed with IVF & stated that I would need a nephrostomy bag if I was to get pregnant. This all made my decision to proceed with surgery really scary and difficult.
Mr Khazali found that my right side was stuck together with a rock solid and extremely large mass of Endometriosis. The right Fallopian tube, ovary, part of my bowel and my right ureter were all stuck in it and the mass was obstructing my kidney function. Mr Khazali was able to remove this mass but had to remove my right ovary and tube at the same time because they were so deeply entangled. I had bilateral uteric stents left in and will have them for 6 weeks. I’ll then go under general anaesthetic again to have my kidney function checked out and they will be removed if my kidneys recover. I also had a lot of Endo removed from my uterosacral ligament and my left ovary was unstuck from my pelvic sidewall. A lot of Endo was removed from my bowel but I didn’t need a resection. Adenomyosis is also suspected because my uterus is clearly bumpy and enlarged.
I would’ve lost my right kidney if Mr Khazali hadn’t operated. It’s terrifying thinking what a different approach consultants at another hospital just a few miles away would have taken.
It’s early days but my recovery has been great so far – I am so surprised at how quickly I was able to come off the strong painkillers and start to move around (gently). I don’t know yet what implications this will have in terms of pain reduction but I’m hoping it’ll have a big impact on allowing me to live more next year and spend less time in agony. Time will tell but for the first time in years I have hope.
Thank you to Nancy Petersen for encouraging me to trust my specialist in the face of conflicting (& unsolicited) advice from different consultants. And thank you to Mr Khazali and his incredible team for giving me the chance to get my life back.


ARB 17/12/2019 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

I had excision surgery with Dr Khazali just over two weeks ago on 26th September.
After two laparoscopies with non-specialists, I found Dr Khazali through this page and asked my GP to refer me. I had my treatment privately and booked my initial consultation for 16th August.
Before the appointment, I was sent some questionnaires to fill in which asked for details on pretty much all my symptoms. The consultation went well. Dr Khazali examined me and went over some of my symptoms. I felt very heard and understood and I trusted that he would help get to the bottom of my symptoms. There was some question over whether another laparoscopy was the right option because endometriosis had not been confirmed in my previous 2 laparoscopies and Dr Khazali felt that if I did have endo, it would have been found during these.
Having said that, he thought endometriosis seemed likely based on my examination, symptoms and history. He made me feel that it was ultimately my decision and he would do another laparoscopy if that’s what I wanted. He dictated the letter to my GP at the end of the appointment while me and my husband were still in the room. Hearing him repeat back my story whilst I was still there was really validating because I felt like I’d been listened to and understood.
In the run-up to the surgery, I had a lot of questions. I emailed his PA and she forwarded on my questions to Dr Khazali. He was extremely helpful and prompt in his responses.
My surgery lasted two hours. Dr Khazali divided adhesions across my bowels, pelvic sidewall, ovaries and appendix. He excised endometriosis from my ovaries, uterus, pelvic sidewall and bladder. Much of the endometriosis he found was microscopic. He sent everything to histology.
He said where there were two areas of endometriosis close together, he removed the whole area in between too to make sure everything was gone. He suspended my ovaries to help prevent adhesions and also used a gel that prevents adhesions too.
A few hours after my surgery, Dr Khazali came to see me and my husband in my room and explained everything in detail. He said he removed everything and more and that he was confident that all the endometriosis is gone. He said any symptoms I get now are very unlikely to be caused by endometriosis.
Since my surgery, I have struggled more than I expected, particularly with some pains that seemed to be getting worse during the second week. I emailed his PA back and forth and she has relayed back to me Dr Khazali’s advice and suggestions. He offered to see me in his clinic on Thursday to check over the pains I’ve been having.
He has recommended I start the combined contraceptive pill now and said this will help towards preventing endo from coming back.
Overall, I am very pleased with my experience with Dr Khazali. I am still struggling with pain but I know I am very early in my recovery. I believe that Dr Khazali has gone above and beyond with the care I have received and I would 100% recommend him to anyone needing similar care.


CR 12/10/2019 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

I had excision surgery with Dr Khazali just over two weeks ago on 26th September.
After two laparoscopies with non-specialists, I found Dr Khazali through this page and asked my GP to refer me. I had my treatment privately and booked my initial consultation for 16th August.
Before the appointment, I was sent some questionnaires to fill in which asked for details on pretty much all my symptoms. The consultation went well. Dr Khazali examined me and went over some of my symptoms. I felt very heard and understood and I trusted that he would help get to the bottom of my symptoms. There was some question over whether another laparoscopy was the right option because endometriosis had not been confirmed in my previous 2 laparoscopies and Dr Khazali felt that if I did have endo, it would have been found during these.
Having said that, he thought endometriosis seemed likely based on my examination, symptoms and history. He made me feel that it was ultimately my decision and he would do another laparoscopy if that’s what I wanted. He dictated the letter to my GP at the end of the appointment while me and my husband were still in the room. Hearing him repeat back my story whilst I was still there was really validating because I felt like I’d been listened to and understood.
In the run-up to the surgery, I had a lot of questions. I emailed his PA and she forwarded on my questions to Dr Khazali. He was extremely helpful and prompt in his responses.
My surgery lasted two hours. Dr Khazali divided adhesions across my bowels, pelvic sidewall, ovaries and appendix. He excised endometriosis from my ovaries, uterus, pelvic sidewall and bladder. Much of the endometriosis he found was microscopic. He sent everything to histology.
He said where there were two areas of endometriosis close together, he removed the whole area in between too to make sure everything was gone. He suspended my ovaries to help prevent adhesions and also used a gel that prevents adhesions too.
A few hours after my surgery, Dr Khazali came to see me and my husband in my room and explained everything in detail. He said he removed everything and more and that he was confident that all the endometriosis is gone. He said any symptoms I get now are very unlikely to be caused by endometriosis.
Since my surgery, I have struggled more than I expected, particularly with some pains that seemed to be getting worse during the second week. I emailed his PA back and forth and she has relayed back to me Dr Khazali’s advice and suggestions. He offered to see me in his clinic on Thursday to check over the pains I’ve been having.
He has recommended I start the combined contraceptive pill now and said this will help towards preventing endo from coming back.
Overall, I am very pleased with my experience with Dr Khazali. I am still struggling with pain but I know I am very early in my recovery. I believe that Dr Khazali has gone above and beyond with the care I have received and I would 100% recommend him to anyone needing similar care.


CR 12/10/2019 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

Today marks a year since my TLH [Total Laparoscopic Hysterectomy] with excision [of endometriosis], bladder biopsy and distension. I’m often asked, “Do you have any regrets” and my answer will always be the same; yes, I do; I wish I’d done it sooner. My history with endo, adeno, cysts, adhesions, and later a fibroid, is long, and sadly it echoes many others of us who have been fobbed off, been through pointless and often detrimental treatments, and been made to feel like it’s in our heads. It took them 16 years to diagnose me and 24 years to finally to see the right Dr who listened, understood, and had the knowledge and skills to treat me effectively. My recovery was fraught with complications including allergic reactions, infections, haematomas, and sepsis. However, I would still answer the same; no regrets. When I look back to the agonising wave of pain that I would ride each month and the meds that I had to take that barely took the edge off, I know that I am in a far better place and I honestly don’t know how I coped back then. It hasn’t been the fix all that I had hoped it would be, but we were never sure which of my symptoms were caused by my IC, bowel intususseption and prolapse (which may or may not have been caused by previous surgeries), and fibro, but pain wise, I am vastly improved and that’s life changing!
So for those who were like me and are waiting until the pain gets so bad that you can’t function anymore and hysterectomy becomes necessity rather than a choice, stop. You deserve better, and though it’s a huge and terrifying fight, have faith that there is a better future; you just have to leap. Learn all that you can so that you can be your own advocate, and don’t be afraid to question and challenge. It’s your body, and though Drs will argue that they’ve had years of experience and gained specialist knowledge, NOBOBY knows YOUR body like you do. Knowledge is power and with it you can fight to get the answers and treatment plan that’s right for you. Hysterectomy isn’t right for everyone and I only only agreed to it because adenomyosis was a 99% certainty. The key is finding the right Dr and believing that you know enough to make an informed decision about what’s best for you.
So, tonight I’m going out to celebrate and I will be raising a glass to not only Dr Khazali, the incredible man that believed me and finally rid me of that crippling pain, but also to this group, especially Nancy, without whom I never would have gained the knowledge, confidence, and strength to fight for the treatment that I deserved. Thank you one and all from the bottom of my heart

SF 13/9/2019 Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

After my initial appointment with Mr Khazali, I have now seen him twice more.
Once to discuss the findings of my MRI and another time as I was feeling nervous and wanted to clarify my symptoms before surgery.
We had made a plan to have a hysterectomy due to possible adenomyosis, take the cervix, clear up any other endometriosis found and for the nerves to be investigated during surgery. He believes in my case that removing the ovaries could help but again has listened to my wishes that I’d rather keep them unless they are diseased. Which we have agreed.
He is such a lovely, kind and caring doctor that really listens and puts you at ease and the patient at the centre of their care.
I completely recommend him for anyone who may be undecided on seeing a Nook doctor. My only regret is that I wish I had seen him earlier.


KAM 30/8/2019 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

Last month I had my 6 month follow up with Mr Khazali following my excision surgery in January. I’m so very appreciative to Nancy’s Nook for all the resources, it took me a few months of reading and researching through the files myself until I felt confident that I was ready to put the work in to get the best treatment I could. I travelled about 3 hours for my appointments, but from the initial consultation I felt heard and understood by Mr Khazali, and after the excision surgery (almost exactly 1 year after the initial appointment) I am experiencing less pain each month. At first the recovery is hard, and I’m not done yet as I’ve been referred for pelvic physical therapy, but I’m feeling positive and have more energy to enjoy my hobbies again. In our last appointment I gave him this cross stitch, thank you again Mr Khazali and thank you Nancy for everything you do here!


LH 11/8/2020 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

I haven’t posted for a while but felt the feedback might help others & hope its onto post this here💛
After suffering with endometriosis for many years, first diagnosis was in 2004. I suffered from extremely heavy irregular periods, debilitating pain and in 2014 after being advised that hysterectomy was the only cure I trusted this advice & decided that I wasn’t going to have more children (I had two already) & with other complications such as uterine fibroid & polyps I decided to have a total bilateral hysterectomy salping oopherectomy. I was put on HRT as then advised due to sudden menopause however after two years of being on HRT and healed from my operation I started bleeding from my bowel so much so it was equal to a regular period. Very scared I took myself off HRT and started taking herbal alternatives which helped with hot sweats & pain but the bleeding & the pain got worse the doctors didn’t believe it was endo I was tested & scanned for everything else but all was clear so out of desperation I researched & found Nancy’s Nook, an Endometriosis support group online & found Mr Shaheen Khazali, I had to travel from another town but all that was worth it, he listened, he believed me & reassured me, I had the best care from him & his team from start to finish, I was supported, I was given so much information with images from the operation, so much more than I have ever had from any other operation or hospital keeping me well informed & up to date, he excised the endo, tidied up adhesions formed from my hysterectomy & today I had my follow up appointment where he confirmed that histology tests proved it was endometriosis, I have recovered well the scars are discreet & healed well, my symptoms have gone and I feel generally better in myself than I have in a very long time. I am so impressed with his expertise, his natural genuine empathy for his patient’s & the care I received was so very much appreciated I was quite tearful. I chose him for his expertise as well as him accepting NHS refferals as I wasn’t in a position to go private, I highly recommend him as first choice surgeon especially if hysterectomy has become an option as last resort. I wish I have researched & found him before I had my hysterectomy as that came with other complications that are often not realised until afterwards. The keyhole excision surgery I had is minimaly invasive & just wish I knew all this many years ago… Whatever your stage of endo, do your research choose your surgeon & make the right choice for you.
Thank you so much to Nancy’s Nook for the information & support & Mr Khazali for giving me back some quality of life💛

JG 4/7/2019 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

I am writing this from the HCA Lister hospital Chelsea, very fortunate to be here as an NHS patient, the care here is amazing. I had a segmental bowel resection, total hysterectomy and excision Of endometriosis from both pelvic side walls and bladder surface, my bowel has been resectioned as Mr Khazali and Mr Nisar removed a 10 cm full thickness rectal nodule, I am so grateful to these two amazing surgeons, I was up and about within 24hrs and the pain is no worse than the pain I suffered before the op, I am stoma bag free also, onwards and upwards From here on. I would highly recommend MR Khazali he has a real understanding of endometriosis and I was very lucky to find him, Mr Nisar is an amazing bowel surgeon, together they are a great team. After all this surgery, I actually feel better now, than I have done in many years.

KL 1/7/2019 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

My Hero ! My life is so much better after my surgery with Mr Shaheen Khazali. I have my life back. I am truly grateful 🙏🏻

 

KM 12/1/2020 – Nancy’s Nook Endometriosis education group

I have suffered with severe abdominal pain my whole life and visited my doctor on several occasions only to be told that this condition could only be managed through the use of strong painkillers. After the condition became unbearable I was referred to Dr Khazali who immediately was able to diagnose my illness as being extensive endometriosis. Throughout my treatment he was incredibly reassuring, informative and engaging. He has supported me throughout this whole journey and am pleased to say he was able to remove a significant portion of my disease and improve my quality of life. I will be forever grateful to him for the support and care I have received.

 

Verified patient 29/5/2019 – Doctify.co.uk https://www.doctify.co.uk/specialist/mr_shaheen_khazali_1

My story only starts 2 and a half years ago. After a bilateral mastectomy for breast cancer and being taken off birth control, I developed severe abdominal pain each month with my period. I visited a number of doctors, having 3 scans, countless unbearable examinations and was admitted to hospital, I was advised to go home, go to bed for a few days and to plainly put on my big girl panties and deal with it. I was at my end mentally and emotionally. I was faced with days where I could not even get up for work. It was at my lowest point, my amazing husband said, enough is enough. We researched doctors and found Mr Shaheen Khazali. The moment I met him I knew I had found someone who understood me. He did not make light of my symptoms, my unbearable pain. He listened and with certainty, confirmed he would be able to help me. For the first time in a year I had hope. This was the first time in months that I had, had this reassurance. He was a straight talker and while my case was complicated and came with risks, he was compassionate, confident and professional. His outstanding knowledge and specialised skill in dealing with endometriosis was enlightening. As a lecturer and a specialist in the field of laparoscopic surgery, I felt I was in good hands. I was sent for an MRI and CT Scan and it was found that I had a mass in my abdomen. My uterus, bowel and bladder were all affected with endometriosis. I underwent a complex procedure with a partial bowel and bladder resection, full hysterectomy with a salpingo-oophorectomy (BSO). I faced the reality that I may have to live with a Colostomy and Urostomy bag. While I was faced with this stark truth, Mr Khazali with the multidisciplinary team of specialists put my mind at ease. His calm and competent demeanor left me feeling safe. The laparoscopic surgery was 9 hours, with 3 surgeons (all of who I owe so much too) focused on me. 3 months on since my surgery my quality of life has changed from almost zero to 100%. I am HEALTHY, HAPPY and PAIN FREE!

Verified patient 6/2/2019 – Doctify.co.uk https://www.doctify.co.uk/specialist/mr_shaheen_khazali_1

When I finally found Mr Khazali, I had stage 4 endometriosis with a frozen pelvis and it dramatically reduced the quality of my life. Mr Khazali listened thoroughly, helped me choose the best option for me and was able to excise the endometriosis and perform a total laparoscopic hysterectomy. The procedure was uneventful and I made a steady recovery. My symptoms have been greatly improved since the surgery nine months ago. Since my surgery, I am now able to live my life free of overwhelming pain and I am exceedingly grateful to Mr Khazali and his team. Thank you.

Verified patient 5/2/2019 – Doctify.co.uk https://www.doctify.co.uk/specialist/mr_shaheen_khazali_1

I have been suffering of very heavy and very painful periods for many years, surviving on strong pain killers and just thinking that nothing could be done and I had to live with it. However everything changed when my mum (back in France) heard of endometriosis through Dr Roman. Dr Roman recommended strongly Dr Khazali as “THE” expert in endometriosis in the UK. I managed to organise an appointment with Dr Khazali at the Runnymede hospital in Surrey. I was very impressed by Dr Khazali straight away not only did he listen to me, taking the time required and asking questions but Dr Khazali also made me feel comfortable, explaining his diagnostic and next steps. Following some further tests (MRI / US..), as I was additionally in a lot of pain all the time (due to twisted right ovary), we agreed that an operation was required. Dr Khazali clearly explained the procedure, the options and I was very clear on what would be done and had no doubts in my mind. Once again during my time at the hospital, I felt at complete ease and well looked after by Dr Khazali and the hospital staff. Since the operation, my constant pain (due to twisted ovary) is completely gone and my periods are much less heavy and painful. My life has completely changed and I am grateful for the excellent care that Dr Khazali provided me. I would strongly recommend Dr Khazali as he had been recommended to me!

Verified patient 30/1/2019 – Doctify.co.uk https://www.doctify.co.uk/specialist/mr_shaheen_khazali_1

Mr Khazali and his secretary, Sarah, are a truly amazing team. Sarah has been so helpful and she has assisted me in every way throughout this journey. I was in severe pain and extreme agony emptying my bowels every day since 2013 after coming off of birth control to try for a family. After numerous scans and MRIs I was diagnosed with severe stage 4 endometriosis and was referred to Mr Khazali by another gynaecological consultant for his expertise with this type of surgery. From my first appointment, Mr Khazali was very kind, compassionate and very knowledgeable and gave me such hope after discovering that I had a rectovaginal nodule invading both my vagina and bowel and needed a complex surgery to remove a large section of bowel and removal of the severe endometriosis throughout my pelvis area. He explained the difficulty of my operation and all the possible risks with the planned procedure. Mr Khazali was very good at listening to my concerns and I have been extremely fortunate to have had such a genuinely kind and highly skilled surgeon. I am now 3 months post-surgery and basically pain free. My bowel symptoms have completely resolved and the surgery has been genuinely life changing. I have no hesitation in recommending Mr Khazali to any woman thinking about undergoing surgery for severe endometriosis. It is very rare to find a true expert in complex endometriosis surgery but Mr Khazali is extremely passionate about treating endometriosis and his dedication to improving the lives of women that are suffering with this confusing and painful disease is second to none. Thank you again for everything x


Verified patient 5/11/2018 – Doctify.co.uk https://www.doctify.co.uk/specialist/mr_shaheen_khazali_1

Amazing consultant Dr Khazli has been the most amazing caring consultant. The last 5 years i had many gynecology issues including endometriosis, fibroids and pregnancy losses. Dr Khazli has looked after me through each surgery and always doing what was best for me and my health. Im 35 years old and just had a hysterectomy with dr Khazli and I can honestly say 4 weeks post operation I feel amazing. I was looked after so so well and he talked me through every stage of my surgery. This is a massive surgery and a decison that was made after loosing 3 pregnacies in 1 year and going through extreme pain and bleeding due to adenymosis. I am a full time working mum and this condition was ruining my life, I was constantly in pain and so down and tearful. Myself and my partner came to terms with the fact I needed to put my health first and a hysterectomy was the option to move forward and be happy and healthy again. Dr Khazli is a kind and caring consultant who really listens to hes patients. I have sat many times crying to him in my consultations and he understood and wanted to do everything to help me. My hysterectomy wasnt taken lightly by Dr Khazli and I had many lapascopic surgeries with him previously to releive my pain and he did everything to help me. Dr Khazli comes as part of a package, with hss amazing PA Sarah Wisden. This lady is a angel. I’ve had many conversations with Sarah and she has listened and showed empathy and compassion. Sarah was there for me each time I needed surgery and if I called to see Dr Khazli she would make it happen straight away. 4 weeks post operation and I feel like me again. I can put closure on all my pain and be the fun hard working mum I was all before I got poorly. My beautiful boys want to also thank you for giving them mummy back. Thank you to all the other amazing staff at the Runnymede and Woking hospital. This gynaecolgist is caring and the best and he has changed my life forever.

 

 

Verified patient 26/9/2018 – Doctify.co.uk https://www.doctify.co.uk/specialist/mr_shaheen_khazali_1

I have been suffering from severe rectovaginal endometriosis symptoms since the end of 2013 but have been endlessly fobbed off/misdiagnosed by my local GPs and local hospital. I finally had a diagnostic laparoscopy in 2017 but was very, very unhappy with my care and treatment and determined that I needed to find a second opinion going forward. I found Mr Khazali initially from an Internet search and saw that he had excellent reviews. I decided to contact him to see whether it was possible to see him and spoke to his wonderful PA, Sarah Wisden. She was so very, very kind and caring and spoke so well of Mr Khazali that I immediately decided to ask for an appointment for a consultation, which was arranged very quickly and efficiently. I saw Mr Khazali last month and was immediately impressed by his warmth and professionalism – a winning combination! He was very good at listening to me, without interrupting (a very rare quality in most doctors I’ve found!!) and treated me like an intelligent being (again, this doesn’t always happen!!). Instead of talking AT me, Mr Khazali involved me in his analysis of my case and reviewed my MRI scans pointing out areas of concern to me on the screen. Mr Khazali gave me excellent advice and did not push for me to have surgery, given that I’m peri-menopausal and given that I’m very loath to undergo a huge operation – hysterectomy with bowel resection. I really appreciate the fact that he listened to my concerns and seemed to advise me exactly as he would if he were speaking to a close relative or friend. If, later on down the line I decide to seek surgery for my condition, I would have no hesitation in returning to Mr Khazali and asking him to perform my operation. From what I have read, it is very rare to find a true expert in complex endometriosis surgery, but I believe from what I’ve read and also after speaking to Mr Khazali and learning how many procedures he normally performs each year, that Mr Khazali’s skills as a surgeon are second to none. I would therefore have no hesitation in recommending Mr Khazali to any woman thinking about undergoing surgery for severe endometriosis. Once again, I would like to thank Mr Khazali for his compassion and dedication to improving the lives of women with endometriosis, and once again, I would like to thank Sarah for all her hard work behind the scenes and for being such a kind and lovely person.

 

 

Verified patient 6/2/2018 – Doctify.co.uk https://www.doctify.co.uk/specialist/mr_shaheen_khazali_1

AMAZING……Mr Khazali and his secretary, Sarah, are a truly exceptional team. From my first introduction with Sarah, I found her to be so helpful and compassionate and she has assisted me in every way possible. And then to find Mr Khazali, compassionate, comforting and the ultimate professional and of course witty. I could not have wished for a more perfect team to assist me at such a difficult time in my life. I had a sub-total hysterectomy in 2003 and had subsequent gynaecological operations under another consultant up to 2013. And then in February 2017 I started experiencing haemorrhaging and was diagnosed with a cervical fibroid and was practically housebound due to the nature of the bleeding. I sought help from my previous gynaecological consultant and another NHS consultant but neither wanted to operate due to complexity of my problem and felt they had washed their hands of me. I was left with no hope from either of them. My GP referred me to Mr Khazali because he had performed another complex operation on one her patients. This was the start of my new journey. At the first appointment, Mr Khazali gave me such hope and explained my only option was to remove this fibroid and that he would perform this operation as he deals with complex surgeries. He explained the difficulty of my operation and all the possible risks but I had no choice but to proceed with the planned procedure of a laparoscopic myomectomy, removal of tubes and ovaries, and endometriosis. I was given an operation date within two weeks. I am writing this review two weeks after the operation and ecstatic that everything went to plan and I suffered none of the outlined risks and this is all down to Mr Khazali. I have been so fortunate to have met Mr Khazali and wish him all the best in his future. Eternally grateful and Thank you so much for giving me back my life x

Verified patient 17/10/2017 – Doctify.co.uk https://www.doctify.co.uk/specialist/mr_shaheen_khazali_1

Well where do I start… first of all this review will give you oodles of *HOPE*….for this amazing man does miracles. If you have been to other Doctors, as my beloved 47 year old sister has been,